I Emerge from the Belly of the Beast

Alright, so I’m hoping there are still people out there who care, but realistically, I’m not holding it against anybody if after a three month absence, you’ve lost the will to feign enthusiasm at my inane ramblings. But this is for those (mom… oh, who am I kidding? My mom doesn’t even read me anymore) who still have nothing better to do than read my frustration with 20 something life.

So to get everyone caught up on what I’ve been doing these past few months, I have two words: grad school.
It’s not an institution, it’s a fucking lifestyle.
But I have re-emerged (semi-triumphant) and I’m trying to get back on track with my writing. Sure, I’ve got 8 more classes to go, but I’m going to take a few moments to forget about the various stresses of an academic life and impart a few words of wisdom.

For those considering grad school, here are my words of wisdom to you…

1) It always sounds like a good idea…
When the economy is in the toilet, it’s a proven fact that more people return to higher education. I’m one of those people. I admit it. I thought, “Well, shit, it’s not like anyone’s hiring, so this keeps me out of the real world for awhile…” And it’s true. Grad school has been great for deferring the stress of the 9 to 5 job and quickly piling bills. But it does come with its own set of stresses. This isn’t me saying “for the love of God, don’t do it!” but think about what you’re getting into.

2) Don’t write about something you love.
I learned this the hard way. I loved horror movies from the 70s. I loved The West Wing. Well, I can’t say that I’ve stopped entirely, but my frustration has reached new limits. Do you realize how difficult it is to write in respect to a seven season series? I mean, sure, I’ve got plenty of random West Wing knowledge to work with, but then there’s reading about people who have written about it. It’s just a lot to undertake and surprisingly enough “just cuz I remember” doesn’t usually fly with grad school professors.

3) Don’t write about something you hate.
It sounds ridiculous, but think about it. How much did I regret writing about things that I love? I can tell you that I hated writing about things that I didn’t like to begin with even more. It sounds pretty standard, but never underestimate the value of common sense, especially in grad school.

If I can even impart some of the wisdom that I’ve learned over this past quarter (oh yeah, and the quarter system sucks. That shoulda been number 4) I will have done a good thing.

One thought on “I Emerge from the Belly of the Beast

  1. Yay! You’re back! I had wondered if you were ever going to post anything again, but then, I know how grad school can be. Especially that first term.

    So welcome back, and it’s good to see the lessons you’ve already learned. I unfortunately didn’t take number 3 seriously enough and now still haven’t completed my thesis because of it.

    On another note, I’ve since moved to the Arctic for a new job! So that’s exciting…

    Anyway, glad you’re back…

Leave a Reply

