Do Opposites Attract?

Dear DePaul,
We need to talk. It’s been almost half a year now and it’s been great. I’ve met some fantastic people in classes and feel like I’ve gained a greater appreciation for the world of academics. But then again, these aren’t the types of people or the sort of environment that we need to talk about and I think we both know that, don’t we?
No, this is more about the Lincoln Park campus. Sorry undergrads, but I’ve gotta call you on it. Now I’m not saying that all undergrads are the devil, but when you get to the Lincoln Park campus and you’re drowning in a sea of them, you can’t help but notice some glaring similarities. Once again, I’d like to take this time to say, this is certainly not the case with all of the people I’ve encountered at DePaul’s Lincoln Park campus, but it’s the case with far too many of them.
Let me start by taking you back. The year was 2005, junior year of high school. A time characterized by the stress of SATs, ACTs, college visits and for some particularly pathetic people, junior prom. But back to the college visits, it was a time when the pressure to categorize yourself as one thing or another (more specifically, one major or another) was particularly strong, but what with my interest in writing and all, I decided to check out a couple Chicago schools that had focuses on writing. One such school was Depaul. I came. I saw. I walked around. Not bad. Then came time for the whole “we are a Catholic school” speech. For those who don’t know, my life is characterized by a number of struggles when it comes to the issue of faith and in the end, I decided it’s not really my thing. My mother begged me not to factor that into my decision considering that was “just one aspect”, but I did it anyway. So long DePaul, sorry it didn’t work out between us, but a catholic university just wasn’t the place for me.
Flash forward a couple of years and here we are. I mean, I’m breaking my own promise but DePaul’s not much better off. The “one aspect” that my mother described to me years ago constantly surrounds me. Maybe it’s just my dumb luck or something, but whenever I visit the Lincoln Park campus, I inevitably end up running into one of the Catholic student groups. My most recent excursion? I walked into the wrong area and stumbled upon the planning of a pro-life rally. What was laughably awkward for me was clearly dead serious for them. As you might be able to imagine, hilarity did not ensue.
But this brings me to my next point. The only other people I encounter on campus are serious bros. We’re talkin’ the ones who rock the Hollister jacket and the slightly askew baseball cap while they plan their Friday nights of beer pong and their Sundays of college football. If you’ve actually made it this far, you may have noticed, I have a tendency to judge people, but rest assured, I’m willing to be proven wrong. The only problem is that so far… not too many people have, or even tried.
The fact of the matter is the main reason I’m writing about this is my difficulty in reconciling the two. I know that not everybody has to get along or even agree, but how can an entire university be comprised of such two opposite extremes? I can’t be the only one who finds this weird, right? Anyways, if you guys over at DePaul could shed some light on the situation, that’d be great. Thanks.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

Leave a Reply

