Do Me a Favor? Don’t Share Your Good News on Facebook

I know it sounds like a lot to ask, but sometimes, your good news isn’t everybody else’s good news. In fact, sometimes it’s really just clutter. You have no idea how many times I have to sift through engagement announcements, birthday well-wishing, and just general happy-go-lucky statements in order to get to the thing that I came on Facebook for in the first place.

After all, that’s pretty much what it boils down to, isn’t it? It’s inconvenient for me. I get how well intentioned a lot of these things are, but you hata realize the inconvenience that it poses for me. Ya know what? Not even just me. I mean, I can’t be the only one that feels this way, right? Or am I seriously the only one getting tired of sorting through “Happy b-day!”s and “Congrats on ur engagement, gurl!”s? I find that hard to believe.

But I’d be lying if I said it was just the clutter. It’s more than that. See, I don’t know how many of my readers are youngest children… or even have brothers or sisters. Me? I’m the youngest of 4.

Oldest brother got a perfect score on his SATs.

Second oldest brother was published by the time he turned 18.

Sister is currently in Africa helping out at a children’s cancer ward.

Me? Well, I’m currently in a Caribou Coffee… which is helping to stimulate the economy? I don’t know, that’s about all I got.

What does this have to do with Facebook? Well, I’m sure those of you who have brothers and/or sisters will vouch for me that the competitiveness comes naturally. Sure, it starts out small, like your sister being able to Skip-it for longer than you. But by the time you hit your 20s and people start posting engagement announcements? It turns into “Well, I’m totally better looking than him, how is he engaged and I’m not?” Never mind the fact that I don’t want to be engaged, it’s the damn principle of the matter!

I’m willing to admit that maybe I get a little too competitive. Or maybe Facebook just unleashes my inner crazy? I don’t know what it is, but I can tell you right here and now, I don’t like what your good news does to me. So do me a favor? In fact, do most of your friends a favor. Don’t post your good news on Facebook.

Whatever happened to formal engagement announcements? Those were nice. Send out a card or a letter to announce your engagement. Not only would Emily Post be proud, but then I wouldn’t hafta hear about how one of my nap time buddies from pre-school is tying the knot.

And birthday wishes? I get the intention of them, but effectively it’s just saying, “Hey, way to go buddy! You managed to make it another 365 days without dropping your hair dryer in the bathtub with you!” Is making it another year really that big of an accomplishment for most of us?

It just seems like people could stand to be a little more selective in what they congratulate people for… or even what they post on Facebook. So do us all a favor, and don’t post it. I may be the only one telling you this, but I can guarantee I’m not the only one who feels this way.

Leave a Reply

