Things I’ve Learned From the Movies: Rom Com Edition- All is Forgiven

They say, “To err is human, to forgive, divine.” Well, call me more of a vengeful Old-Testament kinda guy, but every so often, somebody does something so awful, that forgiveness doesn’t seem to be an option. I mean, do you think people were very forgiving of Hitler after wiping out millions of human lives? Probably not. And ya know why? Because the guy was a dick.

That’s what it boils down to, sometimes people are just bad people. I know it sounds cynical and while I’d love to pretend that everyone has some good in them, in the words of Dr. Loomis, “I realized what was living behind that boy’s eyes was purely and simple evil.”

Now, the examples were gonna talk about today in a very special edition of TILFtM: Rom Com Edition has nothing to do with homicide, genocide, or any pretty much universally designated acts of evil, but a much more common one. It doesn’t really matter what movie you’re talking about, when it comes to the romantic comedy, there’s almost always a third act, in which the protagonists face a seemingly insurmountable odd, usually an act of deceit. For some it’s infidelity, for others it’s that the guy or girl has been playing his/her loved one the entire time a la She’s All That or How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.

While none of these transgressions are comparable to acts of genocide or cold-blooded murder, no one’s saying that, they certainly do have their own set of moral implications. “hey babe, what’s up? Everything about our relationship was based on a lie, but I learned that i really care about you, so… yeah, my bad on that one.” Seriously? Because that’s about the level of thought and sincerity that goes into these third act apologies. I mean, I can’t be the only one who questions this, right? Still, I’m not gonna act morally superior and say that I haven’t done some things that I’m not proud of… I just wish third act apologies were as easy in real life as they are on screen, is that so much to ask?

4 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned From the Movies: Rom Com Edition- All is Forgiven

    • Very true!
      I think one of the things I like is that he’s actually married and bases a lot of his comedy on his own marriage, so it comes from a real and sincere place

Leave a Reply

