Sanctity of Marriage

The Republican declaration of the protection of the “sanctity of marriage” is a line of defense that has been attacked many times, and rightly so. In a world that is losing its soft romanticism and trading it in for trophy wives and starter husbands, it’s difficult to even invest in the institution any more. Still, I’m a firm believer in equal rights and, therefore, gay marriage. Still, I’ll admit, my logic behind wanting to get married (assuming I ever do) is more of the new age thought process than the classic tale of eyes meeting across the room and love at first sight. Why do I wanna get married? Tax purposes.

Granted, if I ever find the guy who can put up with my neuroses and/or terrible drinking habits, I’ll lie. I’ll tell him something romantic, partially for him and also a little because I refuse to believe that the romantic in me is truly dead… but alas, I digress.

I’m not here to make a case for gay marriage being a sacred union, even if it is between a man and a woman. Like I said, I have my own issues with the institution. Sure, we could pretend it’s because I’m a child of divorce or, if you follow the rhetoric of the religious right, I’m just too promiscuous to settle down, but truth be told, gay or straight or otherwise, the institution of marriage has failed its followers. Sure, it works for some people and believe me, I’m happy for them, but far too often, America’s 24 hour news cycle is filled with irrefutable proof that, for a majority of people, the idea of marriage is an untenable reality, even a fallacy to some.

But I’m not here to declare marriage a failure. It’s people’s own lives, they should live them as they see fit, as long as it isn’t hurting anyone else. This is about the “sanctity” of marriage. Gay people have to prove that they’re “worthy” of it, but I can’t help but wonder, who decided that heterosexual people are worthy of it?

Remember Britney Spears marrying that guy (the one before K fed) for, like, 48 hours? proof positive of the sanctity of marriage.

Scarlett Johansson and Ryan Reynolds made it, what? A little under two years?

Tara Reid just got engaged and married on the same day. Yes, the same woman who got the whole pepperoni nipple plastic surgery thing.

But those are celebrities, right? They’re different than us “regular” people.

My parents? Made it almost 30 years before splitting. The only reason they lasted that long was the terrible “stay together for the kids” mentality.

So as long as we’re citing the sanctity of marriage and the Defense of Marriage Act, somebody might want to come to the rescue of “traditional” marriage because it’s not doin’ too well on its own.

4 thoughts on “Sanctity of Marriage

  1. Pingback: The Government Must Protesct the Sanctity of Compassion | Unsettled Christianity

  2. Pingback: The Sanctity Of The Home « This Blogging Thing

  3. Pardon me if I have hinted in my article that I am against gay marriage. I’m not. I, like yourself, believes in equal rights and justice for all.

    Gay marriage is a very sensitive social issue so I deferred to the Scripture for guidance.

    “Let both grow together until the harvest: and in the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, Gather ye together first the tares, and bind them in bundles to burn them: but gather the wheat into my barn.”( Matthews 13:30)

    Unlike most self righteous Christians, I leave judgement to the only righteous Judge—Jesus, “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” (Romans 3 : 23)

Leave a Reply

